Caribbean Thoughts

by Carol Mitchell

Nape

I stand in front of my mirror, examining my body, checking for new lines, blemishes, wrinkles, those things that come with a maturing body. I hold up my hair to get an unfettered view of my back and realise for the first time that no matter how I twist and turn, I cannot see the nape of my neck. I wonder what it looks like, if it is covered with moles and blemishes like the rest of my back.

I give up and turn to face the mirror again, still holding up my hair. My husband comes into the room. I watch him watching my reflection as he walks towards me. When he is right behind me, he bends, kisses the back of my neck.

“Perfect,” he murmurs.

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

